

## **2024 Award Winners**

### WEF Fellows:

1. Paul T. Bowen, Ph.D.

Georgia Association of Water Professionals, Water Environment Association of South Carolina

2. Joseph G. Cleary, P.E., BCEE

New York Water Environment Association

3. Dr. Christian Davies-Venn, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE, BCWRE, F.ASCE

Chesapeake Water Environment Association, Federal Water Quality Association

4. Christine deBarbadillo

Chesapeake Water Environment Association

5. John K. Esler, P.E.

New England Water Environment Association

6. Patricia Kennedy, P.E.

AZ Water Association

7. James S. Kumagai, Ph.D., P.E.

Hawaii Water Environment Association

8. Rebecca Lewis

Kansas Water Environment Association

9. Dave Mason

Water Environment Association of Texas

10. David William Oerke, P.E., BCEE

Rocky Mountain Water Environment Association

11. Dr. Ana J. Peña-Tijerina, P.E., BCEE

Water Environment Association of Texas

12. Joseph C. Reichenberger, P.E., BCEE

California Water Environment Association

13. Matthew Paul Ries, Ph.D., P.E.

Virginia Water Environment Association

14. José F. Velazquez, P.E.

Rocky Mountain Water Environment Association

15. James C. Young

Arkansas Water Environment Association

# Operational and Design Excellence Awards:

- 16. Industrial Water Quality Achievement Award: Not given this year.
- 17. Innovative Technology Award: Not given this year.
- 18. Morgan Operational Solutions Award: Alexandria Gagnon
- 19. Water Quality Improvement Award: Arizona Department of Environmental Quality & United States Forest Service
- 20. WEF Project Excellence Award: City of Santa Monica Sustainable Water Infrastructure Project (SWIP), Honorees: City of Santa Monica Water Resources Division, Kiewit, ARCADIS, PERC Water; SacSewer (Sacramento, CA) Echo Water Project, Honorees: SacSewer, Brown & Caldwell/HDR Joint Venture, Dragados USA, Inc.

- 21. WEF Safety Award: Clayton County Water Authority Safety program; Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District
- 22. Collection Systems Award: Michael Holland

## Organization and Association Recognition Awards:

## Citation of Excellence in Advertising

**Best Campaign:** Company Name: Aqua-Aerobic Systems, Inc., Ad Name: *Aqua Prime* **Best Overall Ad:** Company Name: SewerAl Corporation, Ad Name: *The #1 Pipe Inspection Software Solution for a Reason* 

**Best Presentation of Information (Full Page):** Company Name: Pentair, Ad Name: *Wrong Number?*, Advertising Agency: SYNERGi Media

**Best Presentation of Information (Fractional):** Company Name: Kusters Water, A Division of Zima, Ad Name: *A Myriad of Solutions* 

Best Design (Full Page): Company Name: AECOM, Ad Name: Squaring the Circle

Best Design (Fractional): Company Name: Fehr Bros. Industries, Ad Name: Need a Lift?

23. Member Association Achievement Award: Water Environment Association of Ontario, (MA With Membership Greater than 500)

#### Individual Service and Contribution Awards:

- 24. Camp Applied Research Award: Dr. Francis L. de los Reyes III
- 25. Emerson Distinguished Service Medal: Rasheed Ahmad, Ph.D., P.E.
- 26. Engelbrecht International Achievement: Not given this year.
- 27. Outstanding Young Water Environment Professional Award: Sam Hawkinson, California Water Environment Association
- 28. Schroepfer Innovative Facility Design Medal: Jeff VanVoorhis
- 29. Public Officials Award: Darnell Brown, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District President, Board of Trustees; Rick Crosby, Mount Pleasant Waterworks Commission Chairman (South Carolina); Mr. Ernest R. Williams, McAllen Public Utility Board Vice Chairman (Texas) 30. Ralph Fuhrman Medal: Roy Coley, MBA, Director, Miami-Dade Water and Sewer
- 30. Ralph Fuhrman Medal: Roy Coley, MBA, Director, Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department & Berrin Tansel, Ph.D., P.E., F ASCE, F WEF, Florida International University / Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department
- 31. Water Heroes Award: Jacobs Farmington Water Operations Team (New Mexico); Houston Water (Texas); Knoxville Utilities Board (Tennessee)
- 32. WEF Mentorship Award: Nicole E. Brown
- 33. W. Wesley Eckenfelder Industrial Water Quality Lifetime Achievement Award: Paul T. Bowen, Ph.D.; Michael K. Stenstrom
- 34. Best WEFTEC Program Abstract Award: Jeffrey Allen, Greg Elliott, and David R. Marrs, P.E., Benzene Removal in a Petroleum Refinery Moving Bed Biofilm Reactor System

# **Published Papers:**

35. Eddy Wastewater Principles/Processes Medal: Authors: Yi Cao, Zihao Cui, Glen T. Daigger; "Monitoring biofilm thickness using the membrane aerated biofilm reactor (MABR) fingerprint soft sensor to optimize nitrogen removal." WER, Vol. 95, Issue 12 (December 2023).

- 36. Gascoigne Wastewater Treatment Plan Operational Improvement Medal: Authors: Alonso Griborio, Ph.D., P.E., David Jones, Dr. Wendell Khunjar, P.E., Ron Latimer, P.E., Melissa Meyer, P.E., Gayathri Ram Mohan, Ph.D., P.E., Haley Noteboom, Dr. Paul Pitt, and Yewei Sun, Ph.D.; "Continuous-flow densification helps facilities unlock treatment capacity and substantial cost savings." WE&T, Pg. 67 (September 2023).
- 37. McKee Groundwater Protection, Restoration, or Sustainable Use Award: Authors: Dr. Guido Borzi, Dr. Eleonora Carol, Dr. Sebastián Richiano, Dr. Lucía Santucci, and Dr. Carolina Tanjal; "Assessment of cation exchange as conditioning processes of water chemistry in freshwater lenses." WER, Volume 95, Issue 3 (February 2023).
- 38. Rudolfs Industrial Waste Management Medal: Authors: Christopher Beranek, P.E., Divya Malyala, P.E., Bob Stolt, P.E., and Lara Thurn, P.E.; "Using Ultrafiltration to Achieve Stringent Heavy Metal Discharge Limits and Effluent Reuse for Engine Remanufacturing Wastewater." Access Water Proceedings of the Water Environment Federation, WEFTEC Conference Paper (October 2023).

### **Education Awards:**

- 39. Fair Distinguished Engineering Educator: Berrin Tansel, Ph.D., P.E., F ASCE, F WEF 40. Operator Scholarship: Brendan Casey, Jr. (Centerport, NY), Javian Conley (Decatur, AL), Colinrae Gonzalez (Ogden, UT), Cody Graeve (Runnells, IA), Brice Hall (Dunbar, PA), Mathew Hazelwood (Pleasant Hill, IA), Stephen Kelly (Phoenix, AZ), Carrie LaFond (Fair Haven, VT), Jordan Lewis (Columbia, SC), Chrystal Pointer (Vancouver, WA), Marcos Quintero (O'Fallon, MO), Javier Rondon (Des Moines, IA), Holly Ruble (Marion, IA), Theodore Sammon (Ottawa, ON), Tara Simmon (Elkland, PA), Chris Tatum (Bowmanville, ON), Stacy Thompson (Cape Elizabeth, ME).
- 41. Public Communication & Outreach Program Award:
  - Individual Category: Kahao Lim
  - Other Category: Hamline University's Center for Global Environmental Education (CGEE) "Adopt-a-Drain" Program
  - Other Category: City of Tacoma Environmental Services (ES) "If it Hits the Ground, It Hits the Sound!" Program
- 42. Media & Public Education Medal: Oliver Morrison
- 43. Student Chapter of the Year Award: Old Dominion University, Environmental Engineering Student Association
- 44. WEF Canham Graduate Studies Scholarship: Lilia Ochoa Romero, Rutgers University